famille site.png

Our underground story

STUDIO CLANDESTIN, more than a clothing brand, is an innovative, timeless concept, combining styling with the arts in a committed and inventive spirit, where a transversality of artisanal know-how mingles with the plasticity of contemporary art.


The essence of STUDIO CLANDESTIN is the project of Jonathan Canuti, young creator of Vallauris, who grows up in the middle of greenhouses sheltering the most beautiful flowers of the Azurean region. He is the heir to the markets of Provence and evolves in the legs of the artisans of his region. Ceramists from Vallauris, sculptors and painters from Saint-Paul de Vence, glassblowers from Biot and carnival riders from Nice are the childhood heroes of Jonathan who becomes a lover of beauty and goodness.


During his studies in communication at the Faculty of Nice Sophia Antipolis, he acquired the culture of the image by discovering the history of art, semiology and script writing. These image sciences give him the desire to reinvent himself and create.


Jonathan sharpens his artistic gaze at the same time as his passion for fashion. It becomes for him the most relevant means of expression to claim his vision of the world. He makes Fashion his art. He uses it to express himself, to claim, to stand out and to assert himself. He will be thirsty to know everything on the subject: fabrics, sewing, color, associations, the cross influences of the great couturiers and quickly becomes very sharp. At the same time, his work as visual manager and commercial strategies in a large ready-to-wear brand taught him the foundations of “factory fashion” which he was going to deconstruct.


It was in 2017 that Jonathan Canuti emancipated himself in his name as a designer and created STUDIO CLANDESTIN, which, more than a brand, is an identity, a concept combining the loves of his life including the enhancement of the 'craftsmanship, the mixture of noble and industrial materials, and the endless reinvention of basic pieces. Through his deconstruction work, he uses pieces already created by the industry to make them unique pieces, by associating regional know-how.


Jonathan Canuti embellished the pieces with ceramic borrowed from Laurène JEANNETTE's workshops in Vallauris. All the pieces in her collection are assembled in the small village of Drap, under the needle of Elise Pelaïa, a seamstress with a singing accent in her Clandestine workshop. There is craftsmanship in the phone call and the sun in the quilts.


The concept of STUDIO CLANDESTIN will, in future collections, highlight other Artists such as Yves Klein, as well as collaborations with contemporary artists from various backgrounds.


Antoine Lavoisier said "Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed". STUDIO CLANDESTIN has made this maxim its hobby horse and will offer on its website, alongside its online store, an explosive service: THE CLANDESTIN LABORATORY. In his "Lab", Jonathan will offer his customers a detailed sheet of the raw material necessary for the production of the original parts of the Shop. Everyone is free to explore the intricacies of their closet or to go hunting for treasures and send them to Jonathan who will transform them. These daring customers will be offered a new lease of life to their basics and a significant reduction on their order.


His practice as a stylist operates in the analysis of "factory fashion", with the objective of revealing the aesthetic differences and omissions revealed by ready-to-wear.


Jonathan Canuti's desire is to project the garment in an artistic context, where a space is specifically offered to the sensitive, in order to give a plastic dimension to the pieces in his collection. Through the performance parade, the model brings to life the textile creations of Studio Clandestin, whose architectures enter into communication with space. A way to promote an artistic heritage which is still alive and which feeds our sometimes metaphysical reflections on a daily basis.


In an era where overconsumption is a guru, Jonathan and his STUDIO  CLANDESTIN break the codes and hijack them so that everyone who will wear Studio becomes Clandestine.

famille site.png

Notre histoire clandestine

STUDIO  CLANDESTIN, plus qu’une marque de vêtements, est un concept innovant, intemporel, alliant le stylisme aux arts dans un esprit engagé et inventif, où se mêlent une transversalité des savoir faire artisanaux à la plasticité de l’art contemporain.


L’essence de STUDIO  CLANDESTIN est le projet de Jonathan Canuti, jeune créateur de Vallauris, qui grandit au milieu des serres abritant les plus belles fleurs de la région Azuréenne. Il est l’héritier des marchés de Provence et évolue dans les jambes des artisans de sa région. Céramistes de Vallauris, sculpteurs et peintres de Saint-Paul de Vence, souffleurs de verre de Biot et carnavaliers de Nice sont les héros d’enfance de Jonathan qui devient un amoureux du beau et du bien fait.


Lors de ses études en communication à la faculté de Nice Sophia Antipolis, il acquiert la culture de l’image en découvrant l’Histoire de l’art, la sémiologie et l’écriture de scénarii. Ces sciences de l’image lui donnent l’envie de se réinventer et de créer.


Jonathan aiguise son regard artistique en même temps que sa passion pour la mode. Elle devient pour lui le moyen d’expression le plus pertinent pour revendiquer sa vision du monde. Il fait de la Mode son art. Il l’utilise pour s’exprimer, revendiquer, détonner et s’affirmer. Il aura soif de tout connaître sur le sujet : les tissus, la couture, la couleur, les associations, les influences croisées des grands couturiers et devient rapidement très pointu. Parallèlement, son travail de responsable visuel et stratégies commerciales dans une grande enseigne de prêt-à-porter lui apprend les fondements de la « mode usine » qu’il va déconstruire.


C’est en 2017 que Jonathan Canuti s’émancipe en son nom en tant que designer et crée STUDIO  CLANDESTIN, qui, plus qu’une marque, est une identité, un concept mêlant les amours de sa vie dont la mise en valeur de l’artisanat, le mélange des matières nobles et industrielles, et la réinvention de pièces basiques à l’infini. À travers son travail de déconstruction, il utilise des pièces déjà créés par l’industrie pour en faire des pièces uniques, en y associant un savoir faire régional.


Jonathan Canuti embelli les pièces avec de la céramique empruntée aux ateliers de Laurène JEANNETTE à Vallauris. Toutes les pièces de sa collection sont assemblées dans la ville de Peymeinade, sous l’aiguille de Elise Pelaïa Botta couturière ayant fait ses armes chez Givenchy dans son atelier Clandestin. Il y a de l’artisanat dans le coup de fil et du soleil dans les patchworks.


Après Yves Klein, le concept de STUDIO  CLANDESTIN ira, dans les futures collections, mettre en valeurs d’autres artistes tel que Picasso, ainsi que des collaborations avec des artistes contemporains issus d’horizons variés.


Antoine Lavoisier disait « Rien ne se perd, rien ne se crée, tout se transforme ». STUDIO  CLANDESTIN a fait de cette maxime son cheval de bataille et proposera sur son site web, parallèlement à sa boutique en ligne, un service détonnant : LE LABORATOIRE CLANDESTIN. Dans son « Labo », Jonathan proposera à sa clientèle une fiche détaillée de la matière première nécessaire à l’élaboration des pièces originales du Shop. Libre à chacun d’aller explorer les méandres de son dressing ou bien d’aller chiner des trésors et de les envoyer à Jonathan qui se chargera de les transformer. Ces clients audacieux se verront offrir un second souffle à leurs basiques et une réduction non négligeable sur leur commande.


Sa pratique de styliste s'opère dans l'analyse de la "mode usine", avec l'objectif d'y révéler les décalages esthétiques et les omissions dévoilées par le prêt-à-porter.


La volonté de Jonathan Canuti est de projeter le vêtement dans un contexte artistique, là où un espace est spécifiquement offert au sensible, afin de donner une dimension plastique aux pièces de sa collection. Par le moyen du défilé performé, le modèle donne vie aux créations textiles de Studio Clandestin, dont les architectures entrent en communication avec l’espace. Un moyen de valoriser un patrimoine artistique toujours vivant qui alimente quotidiennement nos réflexions parfois métaphysiques.


Dans une époque où la surconsommation fait figure de gourou, Jonathan et son STUDIO  CLANDESTIN cassent les codes et les détournent pour que chacun de ceux qui porteront Studio devienne Clandestin.